New Music at DINA

Wednesday 26 October 2022 at 8:00 pm

Join us after Ondrej’s concert for part two of our CeNMaS New Music Feast.

See details on our first free concert of the evening at Mappin Hall here.

CeNMaS October New Music Feast 2022

CeNMaS New Music Days are a new feature of our calendar for 2022-23, combining performances, talks and events that showcase cutting edge guest composers and performers alongside staff and students from the Department of Music.

We return to the relaxed atmosphere of DINA for another of our mesmerising evenings of boundary-pushing new music, featuring Marc Yeats’ ‘Vox’ performed by Sarah Watts (bass clarinet) and another of Marc’s solo pieces performed by Ondrej. The programme will include a new ‘time code’ piece from Marc along with compositions by Thomas Stearn and James Thomas performed by members of the New Music Ensemble. Plus special guests ‘Hearing Things’.


Full programme notes for both our events in the feast are available here.

Part 1

(Order TBC)

James Thomas – Goldilocks and the Three Clocks – New Music Ensemble
Thomas Stearn – First Sight of Spring – New Music Ensemble
Alex Barker – Halftones – New Music Ensemble
Marc Yeats – Vox – Sarah Watts
Marc Yeats – Bricolage IV – Sarah Watts & Ondrej Vesely
Marc Yeats – Bricolage III – Ondrej Vesely
Marc Yeats – Bricolage VI – New Music Ensemble

– Interval –

Part 2

Hearing Things – an ensemble of 6 guitars, drums and bass. Performing ‘a piece inspired by minimalist New York guitar composers like Rhys Chatham and Glenn Branca that will use repetition and overtones to create a surprising sonic soundscape’.




  • Date: Wednesday 26 October 2022

  • Time: 8:00 pm

  • Location: DINA 34a Cambridge Street Sheffield S1 4HP

  • Price: Free