New Music Ensemble

Tuesday 02 November 2021 at 5:45 pm

If you would like to watch this event online rather than in person, please click here

An elite ensemble based in the department of music – New Music Ensemble performs new compositions by living composers, including students, staff and guests, as well as 20th and 21st-Century repertoire. Each New Music Ensemble concert is a uniquely-curated listening experience for audiences, often featuring innovative instrumentations and uses of space. We’re very excited to welcome them back after a year off.

This concert will feature an exciting mix of innovative and imaginative new compositions. Automation by composer James Thomas will explore resonance and decay, performed by harpist Manon Mccoy and pianist Tom Crathorne. Manon Mccoy will also perform her piece ‘Your hours won’t trouble me’ written for harp and live processing, which takes influence from writing by Alex Dimitrov.



Yes and…- Ethan Davis

Passing- Alex Barker

your hours won’t trouble me- Manon McCoy

Automation- James Thomas

Yes, and… (2nd round)- Ethan Davis

  • Date: Tuesday 02 November 2021

  • Time: 5:45 pm - 6:30 pm

  • Location: Firth Court Western Bank Sheffield S10 2TN

  • Duration: 45 minutes

  • Price: FREE