Sheffield Showcase: Danqing Wu

Saturday 03 September 2022 at 4:00 pm

A concert of classical repertoire performed by the brilliant performance students of the University of Sheffield. Including works by Bach, Bruch and Vitali.

The first half will feature third-year PhD student Danqing Wu, who is currently studying baroque cello performance practice in 17th century Italy. Originally from China, Danqing began playing the cello at the age of eight, and began playing the baroque cello in 2018. She has performed extensively in orchestra, chamber, and solo recitals.

You will also hear repertoire from two MA performance students as they prepare for their end of year recitals in this free afternoon event.

This is a relaxed afternoon concert with a casual atmosphere.

Featured in the Sheffield Showcase.



Johann Sebastian Bach – Cello Suite no. 2 in G major BWV 1008 (20 mins)

Danqing Wu – Cello





Menuet I / II



Max Bruch – Kol Nidrei, Op 47 (10 mins)

Danqing Wu – Cello Piano: Xiaoya Wang


Giovanni Battista Vitali – Partite sopra diverse sonate (10 mins)

Danqing Wu – Cello


Ruggiero per la lettera. B

Beramasca per la lettera. B

Chiacona per la lettera. B

Capritio sopra otto figure




Yuwen Wu – Piano

JS Bach – French Suite BWV 816 in G Major


Yin Wang – Piano

Franz Liszt – Consolations

Numbers  2, 3 and 6


XiaoYa Wang – Piano

Ludwig van Beethoven – Sonata Op. 14 No.1 in E Major



Rondo – Allegro comodo

  • Date: Saturday 03 September 2022

  • Time: 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

  • Location: 45 Surrey Street, Sheffield, South Yorkshire S1 2LG

  • Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes with interval - Doors 3.45pm.

  • Price: FREE