Sheffield University Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 02 May 2020 at 7:30 pm

Information regarding COVID-19

At the moment, we are working under the assumption that this concert will still go ahead. However, the situation is changing daily and we will be in a better position to confirm the situation during the first week of April. Please check back then for further information.

The University of Sheffield Concert’s statement about the Coronavirus (COVID-19) can be found here

Further information on the University of Sheffield’s current Coronavirus (COVID-19) guidance can be found on the main website:


Don’t miss the chance to catch our talented symphony orchestra! Programme to include a new piece by student composer James Thomas and Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37.


Sheffield University Symphony Orchestra
conducted by George Nicholson
with Xinyi Liang (piano)

Smetana: Bartered Bride Overture

James Thomas: 7-10  (first performance)

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.3 op.37

Debussy: Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune

Sibelius: Symphony No.7


  • Date: Saturday 02 May 2020

  • Time: 7:30 pm

  • Location: Firth Court Western Bank Sheffield S10 2TN

  • Duration: 1.5 hours + Interval

  • Price: £11 / £8 / £5 £3 more on the door

Buy tickets